Emergency Conservation payments in Iowa totaled $39.0 million from 1995-2020‡.

Congressional Districts in Iowa Receiving Emergency Conservation payments, 1995-2020‡

Rank District Emergency Conservation
Pct of
11st District of Iowa (Rep. Abby Finkenauer)$14,727,44937.8%37.8%
22nd District of Iowa (Rep. David Loebsack)$8,029,70720.6%58.4%
34th District of Iowa (Rep. Steve King)$7,277,45118.7%77.1%
43rd District of Iowa (Rep. Cynthia Axne)$6,369,71916.4%93.5%

NOTE: Not all recipients were able to be placed into Congressional Districts so the District total may not total 100%. Nationally 96% of all program monies were designated into a Congressional District

Source: Environmental Working Group. Compiled from USDA data.

‡ Data for 2020 includes payments made by USDA through June 30, 2020 and does not include crop insurance premium subsidies.


Farm Subsidies Education