Emergency Conservation payments in Montana totaled $1.6 million in 2019

Counties in Montana Receiving Emergency Conservation payments, 2019

Rank County Emergency Conservation
Pct of
1Garfield County, Montana$440,40728.3%28.3%
2Blaine County, Montana$190,01612.2%40.5%
3Custer County, Montana$186,56512.0%52.4%
4Hill County, Montana$151,8659.7%62.2%
5Rosebud County, Montana$151,1899.7%71.9%
6Sheridan County, Montana$136,6488.8%80.7%
7Lewis and Clark County, Montana$69,7724.5%85.2%
8Carter County, Montana$48,4793.1%88.3%
9Powder River County, Montana$47,0973.0%91.3%
10Pondera County, Montana$35,1032.3%93.5%
11Teton County, Montana$27,7201.8%95.3%
12Meagher County, Montana$23,9861.5%96.9%
13Richland County, Montana$16,9031.1%98.0%
14Missoula County, Montana$14,6500.9%98.9%
15Roosevelt County, Montana$8,6410.6%99.4%
16Cascade County, Montana$8,6300.6%100.0%

Source: Environmental Working Group. Compiled from USDA data.

‡ Data for 2020 includes payments made by USDA through June 30, 2020 and does not include crop insurance premium subsidies.


Farm Subsidies Education