Wetlands Reserve Program payments in Montana totaled $4.1 million from 1995-2020‡.

Counties in Montana Receiving Wetlands Reserve Program payments, 1995-2020‡

Rank County Wetlands Reserve Program
Pct of
1Montana NRCS$1,801,91544.0%44.0%
2Flathead County, Montana$1,288,10631.4%75.4%
3Hill County, Montana$490,71912.0%87.4%
4Powell County, Montana$85,9972.1%89.5%
5Lewis and Clark County, Montana$79,5081.9%91.4%
6Valley County, Montana$65,8001.6%93.0%
7Sanders County, Montana$60,7961.5%94.5%
8Teton County, Montana$60,4481.5%96.0%
9Madison County, Montana$47,2291.2%97.1%
10Lake County, Montana$42,5411.0%98.1%
11Ravalli County, Montana$37,5980.9%99.1%
12Deer Lodge County, Montana$19,3490.5%99.5%
13Cascade County, Montana$16,4630.4%99.9%
14Chouteau County, Montana$11,8960.3%100.2%
15Missoula County, Montana$2,4680.1%100.3%
16Lincoln County, Montana$2310.0%100.3%
17Fergus County, Montana$-12,024-0.3%100.0%

Source: Environmental Working Group. Compiled from USDA data.

‡ Data for 2020 includes payments made by USDA through June 30, 2020 and does not include crop insurance premium subsidies.


Farm Subsidies Education