Total Counter Cyclical Payments in New Mexico totaled $75.9 million from 1995-2020‡.

Counties in New Mexico Receiving Total Counter Cyclical Payments payments, 1995-2020‡

Rank County Total Counter Cyclical Payments
Pct of
1Roosevelt County, New Mexico$15,892,45920.9%20.9%
2Lea County, New Mexico$13,350,45817.6%38.5%
3Curry County, New Mexico$9,021,73011.9%50.4%
4Dona Ana County, New Mexico$8,111,38810.7%61.1%
5Chaves County, New Mexico$7,397,8219.7%70.9%
6Eddy County, New Mexico$7,395,7919.7%80.6%
7Luna County, New Mexico$6,231,4918.2%88.8%
8Hidalgo County, New Mexico$3,202,3964.2%93.0%
9Quay County, New Mexico$2,133,6422.8%95.8%
10Union County, New Mexico$2,085,8962.7%98.6%
11San Juan County, New Mexico$925,6501.2%99.8%
12Otero County, New Mexico$54,8390.1%99.9%
13DeBaca County, New Mexico$54,3160.1%100.0%
14Sierra County, New Mexico$32,3370.0%100.0%
15Guadalupe County, New Mexico$7010.0%100.0%

Source: Environmental Working Group. Compiled from USDA data.

‡ Data for 2020 includes payments made by USDA through June 30, 2020 and does not include crop insurance premium subsidies.


Farm Subsidies Education