Total Tobacco Transition Payments in Wisconsin totaled $6.3 million from 1995-2020‡.

Counties in Wisconsin Receiving Total Tobacco Transition Payments payments, 1995-2020‡

Rank County Total Tobacco Transition Payments
Pct of
1Dane County, Wisconsin$3,926,72462.8%62.8%
2Rock County, Wisconsin$1,116,94117.9%80.6%
3Vernon County, Wisconsin$770,66412.3%93.0%
4Crawford County, Wisconsin$170,8722.7%95.7%
5Columbia County, Wisconsin$128,9492.1%97.8%
6Jefferson County, Wisconsin$47,9510.8%98.5%
7Monroe County, Wisconsin$37,7180.6%99.1%
8La Crosse County, Wisconsin$28,0170.4%99.6%
9Lafayette County, Wisconsin$11,1740.2%99.7%
10Dodge County, Wisconsin$9,8070.2%99.9%
11Richland County, Wisconsin$2,5260.0%99.9%
12Walworth County, Wisconsin$2,3840.0%100.0%
13Trempealeau County, Wisconsin$8270.0%100.0%
14Florence County, Wisconsin$2960.0%100.0%

Source: Environmental Working Group. Compiled from USDA data.

‡ Data for 2020 includes payments made by USDA through June 30, 2020 and does not include crop insurance premium subsidies.


Farm Subsidies Education