Sorghum Subsidies in New Mexico totaled $153 million from 1995-2020‡.

Counties in New Mexico Receiving sorghum subsidies, 1995-2020‡

Rank County Sorghum Subsidies
Pct of
1Curry County, New Mexico$72,022,08047.0%47.0%
2Roosevelt County, New Mexico$37,296,66224.3%71.3%
3Quay County, New Mexico$22,085,57214.4%85.7%
4Luna County, New Mexico$5,345,4143.5%89.2%
5Union County, New Mexico$5,332,8363.5%92.7%
6Hidalgo County, New Mexico$4,277,1282.8%95.5%
7Lea County, New Mexico$2,846,8341.9%97.3%
8Chaves County, New Mexico$1,441,6160.9%98.3%
9DeBaca County, New Mexico$1,031,2210.7%98.9%
10Harding County, New Mexico$637,7060.4%99.3%
11Eddy County, New Mexico$563,1040.4%99.7%
12Dona Ana County, New Mexico$329,4820.2%99.9%
13Otero County, New Mexico$49,2350.0%100.0%
14Torrance County, New Mexico$17,2620.0%100.0%
15Colfax County, New Mexico$17,1440.0%100.0%
16San Miguel County, New Mexico$10,2460.0%100.0%
17Guadalupe County, New Mexico$6,5130.0%100.0%
18San Juan County, New Mexico$2,8790.0%100.0%
19Santa Fe County, New Mexico$2,7690.0%100.0%
20Sierra County, New Mexico$1,4690.0%100.0%
21Socorro County, New Mexico$320.0%100.0%

Source: Environmental Working Group. Compiled from USDA data.

‡ Data for 2020 includes payments made by USDA through June 30, 2020 and does not include crop insurance premium subsidies.


Farm Subsidies Education