Subtotal, Disaster Payments in Iowa totaled $808 million from 1995-2020‡.

Congressional Districts in Iowa Receiving Subtotal, Disaster Payments payments, 1995-2020‡

Rank District Subtotal, Disaster Payments
Pct of
12nd District of Iowa (Rep. David Loebsack)$244,603,90530.3%30.3%
24th District of Iowa (Rep. Steve King)$238,169,08829.5%59.7%
31st District of Iowa (Rep. Abby Finkenauer)$157,640,86619.5%79.2%
43rd District of Iowa (Rep. Cynthia Axne)$152,271,64218.8%98.1%

NOTE: Not all recipients were able to be placed into Congressional Districts so the District total may not total 100%. Nationally 96% of all program monies were designated into a Congressional District

Source: Environmental Working Group. Compiled from USDA data.

‡ Data for 2020 includes payments made by USDA through June 30, 2020 and does not include crop insurance premium subsidies.


Farm Subsidies Education